Spiritual Dictionary (Dalai Lama to Dukkha , page 1 of 4)

Previous Page
Next Page

Dalai Lama-(Given name Tyentsin Gyatso). The highest SPIRITUAL leader and former ruler of Tibet and the RELIGION Lamaism (in Tibetan Buddhism), and is the fourteenth phase of re-embodiment of the BUDDHA. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989. He left the country of Tibet in 1959, after an unsuccessful rebellion, and went to India. He now travels extensively in the U.S. (and elsewhere) on tours of RELIGIOUS and SPIRITUAL interests, and is the author of many books. His non-violent approach to conflict is held in high esteem.

Damnation-Condemnation to hell or everlasting punishment.

Dark Night of the Soul-The state of dissatisfaction and discouragement that sometimes occurs before SPIRITUAL ENLIGHTENMENT is experienced.

Daydreaming-A dream or fantasy product of one's imagination while awake.

Deadly Sins-Seven sins that are held to be fatal to SPIRITUAL development. They are: anger, gluttony, lust, pride, covetousness, envy, and slothiness. Compare to the Eightfold Path in BUDDHISM.

Dead Sea Scrolls-A collection of about 600 Aramaic and Hebrew manuscripts that were discovered in caves near the Dead Sea in Jordan in 1947. The dating of the scrolls dates from about 200 BC to 68 AD. This collection contained texts (or partial texts) of the HEBREW BIBLE (or the OLD TESTAMENT) and some non-biblical scrolls. The scrolls contained biblical commentaries, manuals of discipline, community organization, rites of initiation, ways to prepare for the coming of the kingdom of GOD, to corroborate readings and events listed in later texts, and as an aid to establishing the original text of the HEBREW SCRIPTURES.

Previous Page
Next Page

Rate This Book

Current Rating: 2.5/5 (233 votes cast)

Review This Book or Post a Comment