The Kama Sutra (Part I Chapter I Introductory Preface, page 2 of 2)

Previous Page
Next Page

Suvarnanabha (second part).

Ghotakamukha (third part).

Gonardiya (fourth part).

Gonikaputra (fifth part).

Kuchumara (seventh part), respectively.

Thus the work being written in parts by different authors was almost unobtainable, and as the parts which were expounded by Dattaka and the others treated only of the particular branches of the subject to which each part related, and moreover as the original work of Babhravya was difficult to be mastered on account of its length, Vatsyayana, therefore, composed his work in a small volume as an abstract of the whole of the works of the above-named authors.

FOOTNOTES: [Footnote 1: Dharma is acquisition of religious merit, and is fully described in Chapter 5, Volume III., of Talboys Wheeler's 'History of India,' and in the edicts of Asoka.] [Footnote 2: Artha is acquisition of wealth and property, etc.] [Footnote 3: Kama is love, pleasure and sensual gratification.

These three words are retained throughout in their original, as technical terms. They may also be defined as virtue, wealth and pleasure, the three things repeatedly spoken of in the Laws of Manu.]

Previous Page
Next Page

Rate This Book

Current Rating: 2.6/5 (2873 votes cast)

Review This Book or Post a Comment